Five EU countries could ban Russian tourists from entering –

European Union countries bordering Russia may prohibit Russian tourists to enter if the Union does not agree on an EU-wide suspension of Schengen visas. This was announced on Tuesday by Lithuanian Foreign Minister Gabrielius Landsbergis, quoted by Reuters.

I spoke to (my colleagues) from all these countries… I don’t see much difference politically“, Landsbergis said.

Besides Lithuania, the other EU Russia’s neighboring countries are Finland, Estonia, Latvia and Poland.

Russian tourists should not be in the European Union. Their country is committing genocide“, underlined Landsbergis, referring to the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Some Central European countries have already stopped issuing tourist cards visa at Russian citizens at the beginning of the war, when due to the expulsion of their diplomats from Russia, the activity of their consular services became technically impossible.

At the same time, visa applications increased after European skies closed for Russian airplanes, forcing Russian citizens to seek entry into EU by land and by sea through border countries and from there to the interior of Europe.

The European Commission has admitted that discussions are underway to see if a “coordinated approach“can agree on the issue of tourism visa for Russian citizens. However, German Chancellor Olaf Scholz has expressed reservations, arguing that they will also affect opponents of the Kremlin regime who emigrate to Europe. The EUThe High Representative for Foreign Policy, Josep Borrell, also expressed reservations.

The Lithuanian Foreign Minister admitted today that it will be difficult to find a solution even at the regional level.

Latvia and Estonia have already stopped issuing visa at Russian citizens, and Finland has announced that it will do so from 1 September.

The subject will be discussed next week in Prague at the meeting of European foreign ministers. The Czech Presidency of the EU announced that he supported the idea of ​​ending the broadcast of visa at Russian candidates. The Czech Republic is among the countries that have severely restricted the issuance of Schengen visa at Russian passport holders.

Follow on Twitter and Facebook

Email us at [email protected]

Информирайте се на Български –