Decision of individual countries, including India: US on the purchase of Russian oil

Rejecting reports that sanctions imposed on Russia by the United States could also be considered for other countries, the White House said that it is up to each country to decide whether it will import Russian oil.

It comes after Deputy National Security Adviser (NSA) for International Economics Daleep Singh, during his trip to India, warned against buying Russian oil.

Speaking at the press conference, White House press secretary Jen Psaki noted on Friday (local time) that Indian imports of Russian energy accounted for only 1-2% of their total energy imports. .

“It is the decision of each country, including India, to determine whether it will import Russian oil, it is only 1 to 2% of its imports. About 10% of its imports come from the United States,” says Psaki.

She was answering a question when Daleep was in India. He addressed the United States’ warning to India not to increase purchases of Russian oil, hinting that if similar sanctions were considered for other countries, asking them to limit purchases of Russian oil to levels previous ones and, perhaps, not to increase (inaudible).

She replied, “I wouldn’t call that a warning, and neither did we at the time.”

India has defended its right to get better deals for its energy needs. New Delhi pointed to Europe’s growing purchases of petroleum products from Moscow despite the war in Ukraine.

Earlier, External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar said European countries remained the biggest buyers of oil and gas from Russia. He even criticized a “campaign” against India to buy Russian oil at a discount.

Russia offered crude oil and other commodities at reduced rates to India after the United States and its allies imposed sanctions on Moscow.

India’s crude oil imports from Russia averaged nearly 360,000 barrels a day in the first half of this month. Based on current shipping schedules, the average oil trade between the two countries is estimated at around 203,000 barrels per day.

Meanwhile, President Joe Biden has signed two bills that will ban US imports of Russian oil and suspend normal trade relations with Russia and Belarus, according to the White House.

To subscribe to Mint Bulletins

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Download the app to get 14 days of unlimited access to Mint Premium absolutely free!