British travelers will have to pay to enter 30 European countries next year in a new rule

Britons will have to pay a visa waiver to travel to 30 European countries next year under new rules.

The waiver scheme, which is due to come into effect in May 2023, aims to ensure safer travel to EU member countries under the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS).

The post-Brexit program will allow up to 90 days for tourism, transit or business in countries like Spain, France, Italy and Germany.

Once obtained, travelers will have to renew the new visa waiver every three years, which will allow unlimited entries into countries in the Schengen zone.

This Schengen area is made up of 26 European countries and four non-EU countries that have abolished border controls between them.

EU states: “After completing an online application form, the system will perform checks against EU information systems for borders and security and, in the vast majority of cases, issue a travel authorization in a few minutes.

“The ETIAS travel authorization will be a mandatory prerequisite for entering the Schengen area. It will be checked with the travel documents by border guards when crossing the EU border.”

The application can be done online and usually takes around 10 minutes, it will also only cost €7 or £6.

According to the European Commission, 95% of ETIAS applications will be accepted, and even if they are not applicants, they have the right to appeal.

What are the ETIAS requirements?

The requirements for the ETIAS visa waiver are quite simple.

You will be required to submit personal information including a full name as it appears in the passport, date and place of birth, gender, home address and nationality.

In terms of documentation, you need:

  • A passport, valid beyond the planned stay in Europe
  • An email address
  • A debit or credit card

You must complete your application at least 72 hours prior to travel.

Those under 18 and over 70 are exempt from the ETIAS visa waiver.

The most trending stories today

Applicants could be rejected if documents have been reported as stolen, if the person poses a security or epidemic risk, or if there is reasonable doubt about the information provided.

An ETIAS application can also be revoked if personal data changes, if an applicant has overstayed in the past, or if their passport is lost or stolen.

Candidates are allowed to appeal against their refusal in the Member State to which they have planned to go.

READ MORE:Passport stamp warning as UK holidaymakers could face EU travel ban

Which countries can I access?

Popular hotspots like Spain are part of the Schengen zone.

You will be able to travel freely within the Schengen area, which consists of 26 EU member states and four non-EU states that have abolished passports and all other types of border controls.

The Schengen area is separate for the EU, although many Schengen countries are also EU countries, including popular destinations like Spain, France and Italy.

You can see a full list of Schengen countries here:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxemburg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Romania
  • Iceland
  • Swiss
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway

Did you know about this visa waiver? Let us know in the comments.

Don’t miss the latest news from across Scotland and beyond – sign up for our daily newsletter here.