8 African countries that are moving away from European influence by negotiating according to African regulations

According to its manifesto, the fundamental objective of this organization is to defend the sovereignty, territorial integrity and independence of its member states; Accelerate the political and socio-economic integration of the continent; Promote and protect common African positions on issues of interest to the continent and its peoples.

One way to achieve this is through the creation of the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA). The AFCFTA is one of the 13 Flagship Projects of the African Union’s Agenda 2063: The Africa We Want.

This initiative was founded to remove barriers to trade in Africa and significantly boost intra-African trade, especially the value of trade.

Drawing inspiration from the European Union’s free trade that has fostered economic growth across the European continent, AFCFTA also wants to maximize the potential of African trade and create policies that reduce tariffs and increase returns.

The AFCFTA was established in Kigali, Rwanda on March 21, 2018, where 44 countries signed the AFCFTA, 47 signed the Kigali Declaration and 30 signed the Protocol on the Free Movement of Persons.

The AFCFTA was to be launched in phases and according to a recent report, development is slowly but surely coming to fruition.

The launch of the Guided Trading Initiative took place on October 7, 2022 in Accra, Ghana. There, AfCFTA General Secretary Wamkele Mene noted that some countries have been exceptional in showing readiness to start trading under the AfCFTA.

Here are the 8 countries he listed

  1. Egypt
  2. Kenya
  3. Ghana
  4. Rwanda
  5. Tanzania
  6. Cameroon
  7. Mauritius
  8. Tunisia

Much like the purpose of the AU itself, trade under this body would accelerate “the economic integration of the continent and coordinate and harmonize policies between existing and future regional economic communities”.